Publications Committee

The Publications Committee is an ISA standing committee charged with evaluating and making recommendations on editorial teams for all ISA publications. It also reviews and evaluates ISA publication policies and publication needs.

The Publications Committee shall make recommendations to ISA’s Executive Committee and/or Governing Council, concerning (1) the appointment and/or replacement of ISA Publication Editors; (2) the institutional locations of editorial operations; (3) the contribution of ISA Publications toward the goals of the International Studies Association; (4) the relationships between the ISA Publications, specifically potential issues of overlap, competition, and/or, redundancy; and (5) strategies to increase international distribution of ISA publications and to encourage inclusion of contribution materials in languages other than English.

In discharging the above responsibilities, actions of the Publications Committee and ISA Headquarters are subject to review by the Executive Committee and approval by the Governing Council. Importantly, editorial functions area the responsibility of the Editors of each ISA publication while operational and management functions are the responsibility of ISA Headquarters.

About the Committee

The Publications Committee is a permanent standing committee of ISA. Committee members are appointed by the ISA President and approved by the ISA Governing Council.

Membership and Terms

  • The committee consists of nine committee members in addition to the ISA Journal and Compendium editors
  • Nine committee members serve three-year, staggered terms
  • The committee chair also serves as the Publications Representative to the Governing Council for the length of his/her term as chair
  • Committee member terms officially begin with the start of the ISA Annual Convention meeting of the first year listed and end with the closing of the ISA Governing Council meeting of the final year listed (excepting editors who serve conguent with their editorships)
  • The ISA President, Past-President, President-Elect, Executive Director and Director of Operations serve as ex-officio members

Committee Members

Amanda Murdie | Chair
January 2023 - March 2026
University of Georgia

See Full Committee Membership