Ad Hoc Committee on Journal Governance

This committee is no longer active. The work of the committee ended at our Governing Council meeting held at our 2012 Annual Convention in San Diego. Additional issues are referred to the Publications committee for review. Information is kept and provided here for historical purposes only. If you have any questions on the work of this committee, please contact ISA headquarters.


The committee is charged with considering the future governance of ISA Journals and will make recommendations regarding the journal governance policies.

About the Committee

The Ad Hoc Committee on Journal Governance is an ad hoc committee of ISA. Committee members were appointed by the ISA President and approved by the ISA Governing Council.

Membership and Terms

  • The committee members serve an unlimited term while the committee is on an ad hoc basis
  • The ISA President, Past President, President-Elect, Chair of the Long Range Planning Committee, Chair of the Publications Committee and the Executive Director of ISA serve as ex-officio members

Committee Members

Brian Pollins | Chair
The Ohio State University

Bob Denemark | Member
University of Delaware

Deborah Larson | Member
University of California, Los Angeles

Janice Gross Stein | Member
University of Toronto

William Thompson | Member
Indiana University

Thomas G. Weiss | Member
CUNY Graduate Center

Harvey Starr | Ex-Officio
University of South Carolina

Etel Solingen | Ex-Officio
Past President 
University of California, Irvine

Amitav Acharya | Ex-Officio
American University

Michael Ward | Ex-Officio
Long Range Planning Chair
Duke University

Thomas J. Volgy | Ex-Officio
Executive Director
University of Arizona
International Studies Association

Dana B. Larsen | Ex-Officio
Director of Operations
International Studies Association