Ad Hoc Committee on Executive Director and HQ Selection

This committee is no longer active. The work of the committee ended at our Governing Council meeting held at our 2015 Annual Convention in New Orleans, when a new committee for long-term evaluation of the Executive Director was approved. Information is kept and provided here for historical purposes only. If you have any questions on the work of this committee, please contact ISA headquarters.


This committee will consider the future executive office of ISA and may make recommendations regarding the ISA Headquarters and Executive Director selection. Following a Governing Council mandate, this committee will work to craft criteria for evaluating the Executive Director.

About the Committee

The Ad Hoc Committee on Executive Director/HQ Selection is an ad hoc committee of ISA. Committee members were appointed by the ISA President and approved by the ISA Governing Council. This committee will present a set of recommendations at the New Orleans 2015 meeting after which it will become inactive.

Membership and Terms

  • The committee members serve an unlimited term while the committee is on an ad hoc basis
  • The ISA President, Executive Director and Director of Operations serve as ex-officio members

Committee Members

J. Ann Tickner | Chair
University of Southern California

Bruce Bueno de Mesquita | Member
New York University

Robert Kudrle | Member
University of Minnesota

Amitav Acharya | Ex-Officio
American University

Thomas J. Volgy | Ex-Officio
International Studies Association
University of Arizona

Dana Larsen | Ex-Officio
International Studies Association