ISA Midwest Annual Conference 2017, St. Louis, Missouri

This conference has closed. This page is kept for archival purposes only. If you have any questions, please contact ISA Headquarters.

November 17th - 18th
The Hilton at the Ballpark, St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Hosted by ISA-Midwest


More information will be posted as it becomes available.

The ISA - Midwest held its annual conference at the Hilton at the Ballpark in St. Louis, Missouri, from November 17-18, 2017. Brian Lai (University of Iowa) served as the program chair. Stephen Quackenbush (University of Missouri) was the president.

With generous support from the ISA Professional Development Committee, we were able to continue the Emerging Scholar Forum. This is similar to the Junior Scholar Symposium at ISA, and it placed two groups of four emerging scholars with two senior scholars in the field.

There were also several roundtables. One of them honored the Best Book Award Recipients Gary Goertz (University of Notre Dame), Paul Diel (University of Texas- Dallas), and Alexandru Balas (SUNY- Courtland) while others covered teaching and learning topics, publishing, and success in an academic career. We had approximately 161 participants and 37 panels and roundtables. We were able to cover our hotel room block. We were also able to provide small stipends to students who attended the conference. Financially, our projections suggest that the conference generated a budget surplus to carry forward to the 2018 conference.

ISA President Brett Ashley Leeds (Rice University) gave the keynote address, “Interests, Institutions, and Foreign Policy Change,” at the reception on Friday evening. Cameron Thies was the Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar this year and delivered an address, titled “Foreign Policy Role Theory: How (and Why) to Revive a Research Program,” at the Quincy Wright luncheon on Saturday.

We had also several other award winners listed in the program. We honored them at the reception on Friday evening Gary Goertz (University of Notre Dame), Paul Diel (University of Texas- Dallas), and Alexandru Balas (SUNY- Courtland) won the Best Book Award, Sara Mitchell (University of Iowa) and Andrew Owsiak (University of Georgia) won the Frank J. Klingberg Award for Best Paper Presented by a Faculty Member. Sojeong Lee (University of Iowa) won the Lynne Rienner Award for Best Paper Presented by a Graduate Student. Dennis Foster (VMI) and Jonathan Keller (James Madison University) won the Margaret G. Hermann Award for Best Paper Utilizing Text Analysis in Leadership Studies.

- Brian Lai, ISA-Midwest Region President, 2017-2018


View the Call

The deadline for paper/panel submissions was Friday, July 14, 2017.

The International Studies Association-Midwest invites proposals for papers, panels, roundtables, and participation on Emerging Scholars Forums (see below) on any subjects related to international studies, broadly defined, for its annual meeting. The conference will be held November 17-19 at the Hilton at the Ballpark, St. Louis, Missouri, USA.

The deadline for paper and panel submissions is Friday July 14, 2017. All proposal submissions must be through the ISA submission software. ISA membership is not required for either proposal submission or conference attendance, though you will need to create an account with if you do not already have one. Faculty members attending the conference will be asked to serve as chairs and/or discussants. Please indicate your areas of expertise when you submit your proposal.

We hope to see you in St. Louis!

Emerging Scholars Forum

This year ISA-Midwest will continue its Emerging Scholars Forum (ESF, funding pending). Senior graduate students and junior faculty are encouraged to apply when submitting paper proposals for the program. Similar to ISA's Junior Scholar Symposium, this is a valuable opportunity to receive in-depth feedback from a senior scholar at a regional conference.

This forum, to be held on the first day of the ISA-Midwest conference, will place small groups of emerging scholars with a senior person in the field. The junior scholars and their senior scholar mentors will be grouped together with similar papers into four panels. The final composition of the panels will reflect the actual proposals received. The selection process is competitive and limited to sixteen senior graduate students and junior faculty. Final topics will depend upon the papers selected.

As an incentive to participate, junior and senior scholars will receive a small travel stipend of at least $100. To be eligible, all participants must be ISA members and registered for the 2017 ISA-Midwest conference.

2017 Program Chair

Brian Lai

University of Iowa

Login to View the Full Program

Below you will find information about the ISA-Midwest 2017 Annual Conference in St. Louis, Missouri. Note that browsing the public program and requires you to be logged into

Interested in this conference's news? Check out the archived conference updates.